Monday, April 22, 2013

A little about the Greater Comilla Region

Hello Readers,
After completing the previous post, I usually started searching on the net to find out anything new about Comilla which could help me to write another post for my blog. When I entered the keyword related to Greater Comilla, at the first result page I found a website from the Greater Comilla Association, USA Inc. and the URL for the site is

And that’s it! I found my topic for another post. I did some other searching and collected some info about the Greater Comilla region. Now, I am writing a little about the greater Comilla region which once included some other district around Comilla. Here are some common and useful information’s I have collected about the Greater Comilla Region.

Comilla District is located about 100 kilometers south east of Dhaka. Comilla established as a district of Bengal by the British in 1790. That time it included the Sub-divisions of Brahmanbaria (B-Baria) and Chandpur which eventually became separate districts in 1984. At present Comilla district is bordered by Brahmanbaria districts to the north, Noakhali and Feni districts to the south, Tripura of India to the east, and Munshiganj and Chandpur districts to the west.

Greater Comilla:

Greater Comilla region lies in the eastern part of Bangladesh and consists of total three districts- Comilla, Brahmanbaria and Chandpur. Below are little descriptions about the two other district, Brahmanbaria and Chandpur, since this blog is about Comilla and a post about history and others already comilla has already published.


The Geographical location of Brahmanbaria district is in the east-central of Bangladesh. It literally means the place where Brahmins reside. It is a part of the Chittagong Division and it was a part of the Greater Comilla Region until 1984

A little about Geography Weather and History of B-Baria District:

Brahmanbaria is located at the east-central region of Bangladesh. The total land  area of this district is 1927.11 sq km. The district is bounded by Kishoreganj and Habiganj district on the north side, Comilla district on the south side, Habiganj district and Tripura state of India on the east side and Meghna River, Kishoreganj, Narsingdi and Narayanganj district on the west side.

The land of the district is low-lying land with small hills and hillocks of red soil. The highest average temperature is 34.3 °C and lowest is 12.7 °C. Total annual average rainfall is 2551 mm. The main rivers of the district are the Meghna, Titas River, Buri and Haora River.

During the Mughal era, Brahmanbaria was very famous for producing of the quality cloth Muslin. Brahmanbaria was made one of the 3 Sub-divisions of Comilla district by the British rulers in 1860. B-Baria Municipality was established in 1868. It became part of East Pakistan in 1947 which eventually became independent Bangladesh in 1971.

Brahmanbaria was a part of Samatata Janapada of our ancient Bengal. The biggest gas reserve of our country can be found in this area. A great demand of electricity and fertilizers has been served by this district for years.  In agriculture, especially in producing rice, Brahmanbaria opened the door of endless opportunity. Brahmanbaria reserves its ancient cultural practices and considered as cultural capital of Bangladesh.

Brahmanbaria has 4 municipalities, 39 wards, 97 mahallas, 7 upazilas, 98 union parishads, 1052 mouzas and 1329 villages. The district is divided into eight Upazillas / Thanas, these are: Brahmanbaria Sadar Upazila, Ashuganj Upazila, Nasirnagar Upazila, Nabinagar Upazila, Sarail Upazila,Kasba Upazila, Akhaura Upazila and Bancharampur Upazila.


Geography and Weather of Chandpur District:
The land area of Chandpur district is 1704.06 sq km. The district is bounded by Munshigonj and Comilla districts on the north side, Noakhali, Lakshmipir and Barisal districts on the south side, Comilla district on the east side, Meghna river, Shariatpur and Munshiganj districts in the west side.

Rivers erosion is a common feature in the district. The Padma and the Meghna meet near Chandpur Town and take a vast expanse. Main tributaries of the Meghna are Dakatia, Dhanagada, Matlab, and Udhamdi. Ghorgaon Jala is a beel. The annual average temperature is maxium 34.30C and minimum 12.70C, annual average rainfall is 2551 mm.


Chandpur is a municipal town, stands on the bank of the Meghna River. The area of the town is 7.77 sq km. It consists of 15 wards and 75 mahallas. The town has a population of 94821; male 50.77%, female 49.23%. Literary rate among the town people is 56.4%.

Chandpur municipality was established in 1897. In the map of Greater Bengal by James Renel Chandpur has been exactly indicated along with Tripura. JN Sengupta thinks that Chandpur was named after zaminder Chand Ray of Bikrampur. Some people think that it was named after Darvish Chand Fakir of Village Koralia adjacent to the town. Again, some think that it was named after Chand Sawdagar of the Maimansingha Gitika who used to come to this port for trade with his swapta Dinga O Madhukar.

During the first part of the twentieth century some European and Indian business firms established several jute mills here. But with the partition of Indian sub continent in 1947 most of these business establishments were closed down.

This port was an important center for jute and grain trades besides many other trades on ship building, salt refinery, fishing net making and oil production are present in this port. However, some parts of the town have submerged into riverbed due to the erosion and the Puran Bazaar (old) is now under threat of river erosion. Since 1973 TK 35 corers have been spent to build town protection dam with blocks.

Chandpur Sub division was established in 1878 and was included in Tripura district. It was turned into a district in 1984. The district consists of 6 municipalities, 60 wards, 195 mahallas, 7 upazilas, 1 thana, 87 union parishads, and 1226 villages. The municipalities are Chandpur Sadar, Shahrasti, Matlab, Chengerchar, Hajigonj and Kachua and the upazilas are Chandpur Sadar, Hajiganj, Kachua, Faridganj, Matlab, Haimchar, and Shahrasti.

No comments: